Home » Roma » pretty, happy, funny, real: Vol. 2

pretty, happy, funny, real: Vol. 2

Pretty

We got a piano! It was free + cost of getting it moved here (which is to say, it was only $300, which is still a steal). We have been moving things around to accommodate it, but it’s fun to plunk around on and pull out our old music from college and pre-college days.

phfr2forwantofwonder

Hooray! And the pretty botanical prints above it are an early Mother’s Day gift from Tom!

Happy

Last Saturday, I spent the day (with my trusty side-kick, Lena) at the Catholic Women’s Blogging Network Mid-Atlantic Conference. It was so much fun. I loved getting to meet so many other Catholic bloggers, a few of whom live close enough that we can actually hang out. I absolutely loved my small group conversation, and you can read Abbey’s recap of it, because she perfectly articulated what I thought about it all, too. It was an awesome day, and I’m so happy to have met so many lovely new online/real life friends. Lena enjoyed all the babies and the freedom to roam in Julie’s beautiful home!

Lots o' babies!

Lots o’ babies! Photo cred to Rosie!  

Lucy and Tom spent the day at his fellow teacher’s country place just down the road from the Conference. Lucy got to play with kids, ducks, chickens, dogs, and a handmade rocking horse:

IMG_0468.2015-05-02_195457 IMG_0469.2015-05-02_195505

Funny

Lena is adorable, in my humble opinion, but she looks hilariously nothing like me…blue eyes, blond, curly hair…love her. One day, she may prove to share my DNA but for now, she’s 100% Cox.

Lena

Real

Tomorrow, we’re driving up to Steubenville, Ohio– Anna’s graduating!! We’re excited to see her and our best friends up there, buuuut can’t say we’re looking forward to the 5+ hour road trip. It’s only the second major road trip with both girls. I’m mentally preparing myself as well as going to the library later to rent a bunch of Curious George DVDs for Lucy. She’ll be enjoying her on-board entertainment courtesy of a mini portable DVD player, circa 2005. Magdalena will be bribed with finger foods for as long as possible. And that’s all I got. Hit me with all your road trip advice for 2 year olds and 10 month olds. And obviously, no picture for this… yet!

Linking up with Like Mother, Like Daughter.

12 thoughts on “pretty, happy, funny, real: Vol. 2

  1. Oh my goodness, that piano! I’d love to have one even though I don’t play! Such a steal!! So fun you got to go to a CWBN conference! I’m praying I get to go to the TX one! Praying, praying, praying! Excited to read Abby’s post on it and so glad you got to go! Prayers for your travels! We’ve driven 10+ hours with our boys quite a few times (that’s how far my parents are and flying is expensive!). I wish I had tangible advice. i think you’re off to a good start! Snacks, be willing to take breaks, walk around and let them play when you do stop, and if you can swing it, sit with them in the back when the going gets tough? Bring books. That worked sometimes too. Don’t forget favorite blankets, lovies, etc. And I’ll say a prayer for y’alls travels! 🙂

    • Thanks, Amanda! That’s really sweet of you to pray! We definitely appreciate it. I SO hope you get to go to the Texas one; it was so wonderful. I think we will definitely just have to stop whenever things get too scream-y (both girls are SO LOUD!). I am pretty much resigned to sit between their car seats too!

  2. Wow, that piano IS a steal! What a treasure!
    Love the name Lena – so pretty! And my youngest son and I are opposite as well except that I’m the lighter one and he’s the darker one! So funny !

  3. Those prints are so pretty! I always see so much art I love on etsy and around the internet, but I can never actually pull the trigger on buying any because I don’t know where to put it! Some day 🙂

    • Yes! My husband said he knew if I was with him in the store we would have decided not to buy them (or convinced each other to “keep looking” or something), but since he told himself it was a gift, he just got them! 🙂

  4. It was so wonderful to meet you and Lena! And we got a free piano too–and we love it! Yours looks beautiful under those prints. Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

  5. Loved meeting you and very glad you were in the same small group! Hope you have a great drive — I’m from Steubenville so I know that trip well. My advice, for adults, is a stop at Tim Hortons to get Timbits, but that’s because sugar makes road trips better. For me, anyway 🙂

    And congrats on the great steal of a piano!

  6. Pingback: End of Summer Quick Takes |

Leave a Reply

